President Obama Tax Return 2009 - Charity Donations

Obama Tax Return 2009 - Charity Donations

President Obama and his wife, Michelle, posted their 2009 tax return online on April 15, 2010.

They reported an adjusted gross income of over $5.5 million in 2009. The majority of their income came on the sales of the president’s books. They paid nearly $1.8 million in federal taxes.

In addition, President Obama won $1.4 million as the recipient of the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize. However he did not have to report it as income because he instructed the Nobel Committee to donate the money directly to charity.

Aside from the Nobel award, the White House said the Obamas donated $329,100 to charity. Their largest gifts were $50,000 contributions to CARE and the United Negro College Fund.

Here is a detailed analysis of the Obamas’ charitable givings:

Charity Donation Charity Website
1 CARE $50,000 www.care.org
2 United Negro College Fund $50,000 www.uncf.org
3 Boys and Girls Club of America $20,000 www.bgca.org
4 National MS Society $15,000 www.nationalmssociety.org
5 Ovarian Cancer National
Alliance
$15,000 www.ovariancancer.org
6 American Red Cross $10,000 www.redcross.org
7 Greater New Orleans Foundation $10,000 www.gnof.org
8 Habitat for Humanity $10,000 www.habitat.org
9 Life Pieces to Masterpieces $10,000 www.lifepieces.org
10 Miriam’s Kitchen $10,000 www.miriamskitchen.org
11 Mosaic Youth Theater of Detroit $10,000 www.mosaicdetroit.org
12 National Coalition for
Homeless Veterans
$10,000 www.nchv.org
13 Bread for the City $5,000 www.breadforthecity.org
14 Calvary Women’s Shelter $5,000 www.calvaryservices.org
15 Central Illinois Food Bank $5,000 www.centralilfoodbank.org
16 Citizens United for
Research in Epilepsy
$5,000 www.cureepilepsy.org
17 D.C. Boys and Girls Club $5,000 www.bgcgw.org
18 Direct Relief International $5,000 www.directrelief.org
19 Girl Scouts USA $5,000 www.girlscouts.org
20 Greater Chicago Food Depository $5,000 www.chicagosfoodbank.org
21 Illinois Head Start Association $5,000 www.ilheadstart.org
22 Illinois Reading Council $5,000 www.illinoisreadingcouncil.org
23 Juvenile Diabetes
Research Foundation
$5,000 www.jdrf.org
24 Martin Luther King
National Memorial Project
$5,000 www.mlkmemorial.org
25 Midtown Educational Foundation $5,000 www.midtown-metro.org
26 Mujeres Latinas en Accion $5,000 www.mujereslatinasenaccion.org
27 National AIDS Fund $5,000 www.aidsfund.org
28 Rochelle Lee / Boundless
Readers
$5,000 www.boundlessreaders.org
29 Sidwell Friends School $5,000 classic.sidwell.edu
30 St. Leo’s Residence for
Veterans
$5,000 www.stleoveterans.com
31 The Christopher House $5,000 www.christopherhouse.org
32 The Harmony Project $5,000 www.harmony-project.org
33 Book Worm Angels $2,500 www.bookwormangels.org
34 Haiti Foundation of Hope $2,000 www.haitifoundationofhope.org
35 National Congress of Black
Women
$2,000 www.nationalcongressbw.org
36 Washington Humane Society $1,500 www.washhumane.org
37 Avon Walk for Breast Cancer $500 www.avonwalk.org
38 St. John’s Church $250 www.historicstjohnschurch.org
39 19th Street Baptist Church $200 www.nsbcdc.org
40 Crusade of Mercy $150 N/A

Charities that Received President Obama’s Nobel Prize Money

Charities Donation Charity Website
1 Fisher House Foundations Inc. $250,000 for program expenses www.fisherhouse.org
2 Clinton Bush Haiti Fund $200,000 for program expenses www.clintonbushhaitifund.org
3 American Indian College Fund $125,000 for scholarships www.collegefund.org
4 Appalachian
Leadership and Education Fund
$125,000 www.alefwv.com
5 College Summit $125,000 for program expenses www.collegesummit.org
6 The Posse Foundation $125,000 for program expenses www.possefoundation.org
7 Hispanic Scholarship Fund $125,000 for scholarships www.hsf.net
8 United Negro College Fund $125,000 for scholarships www.uncf.org
9 Africare $100,000 for program expenses www.africare.org
10 Central Asia Institute $100,000 for program expenses www.ikat.org

Resources and Links:

President Obama Tax Return 2009 – On White House’s website